Coverage
Every count is calculated from the records Namela holds. “Not yet established” means no source used for that province says whether facilities are public or private. It is not zero.
Verified identities and registration checks are 0 because no record has yet been checked by a Namela reviewer or against a licensing authority.
| Province | Listed | Public | Private | Ownership unknown | Hospitals | Clinics | CHCs | Verified identity | Registration checked | Data gaps |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eastern Cape | 3 | not yet established | not yet established | 3 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 list used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Free State | 37 | not yet established | not yet established | 37 | 18 | 12 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 3 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Gauteng | 15 | not yet established | 1 | 14 | 1 | 8 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 2 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| KwaZulu-Natal | 143 | 44 | 2 | 97 | 3 | 85 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 4 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Limpopo | 236 | not yet established | 1 | 235 | 1 | 233 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Mpumalanga | 37 | not yet established | not yet established | 37 | 0 | 37 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 list used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Northern Cape | 29 | not yet established | not yet established | 29 | 17 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 0 | 2 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| North West | 70 | not yet established | 1 | 69 | 13 | 40 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 3 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| Western Cape | 5 | not yet established | 4 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 lists used. The provincial Department of Health facility list has not been obtained. |
| South Africa | 575 | 44 | 9 | 522 | ||||||
Sources integrated
| Source | Authority | Coverage | Records | Source date | Opened | Status | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinics and community health centres (CHCs) opened 24-hours | National Department of Health | National (all nine provinces appear) | 422 | July 2026 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Only facilities open 24 hours. No addresses, telephone numbers, ownership, identifiers or coordinates. |
| Free State post-violence care service sites (in List Health facilities 2025) | Free State Department of Health, published by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development | Free State | 33 | 2025 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Only post-violence care sites. Staff names in the source are not captured. |
| Designated public health facilities for KwaZulu-Natal for management of survivors of rape and sexual assault (in List Health facilities 2025) | KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health, published by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development | KwaZulu-Natal | 44 | 2025 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Only designated sites. Names often omit the word hospital. Staff names not captured. |
| KwaZulu-Natal institutions without a designated clinical forensic facility, offering HIV and PEP services (in List Health facilities 2025) | KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health, published by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development | KwaZulu-Natal | 11 | 2025 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | This table’s heading does not say the facilities are public. |
| Northern Cape Department of Health designated clinical forensic facilities, 2024 (in List Health facilities 2025) | Northern Cape Department of Health, published by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development | Northern Cape | 27 | 2024 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Several telephone numbers are cell numbers or have too few digits. Staff names and a personal email in the source are not captured. |
| North West Thuthuzela and Kgomotso Care Centres (in List Health facilities 2025) | North West Department of Health, published by the Department of Justice and Constitutional Development | North West | 29 | 2025 | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Marks each site functional or not functional. Several numbers are cell numbers. |
| Mediclinic Southern Africa: Hospitals and Day Clinics, finder page 5 (items 41 to 50) | Mediclinic Southern Africa (the operator, not a regulator) | National operator list. Only one page of about seven was read. | 9 | 13 October 2026 | 18 October 2026 | partly integrated | Partial: 9 South African facilities of about 65. Provinces are not stated on the page. One Namibian facility excluded. |
| Designated hospitals for managing the COVID-19 cases | South African Government (gov.za) | National, one hospital per province (only the Free State entry is loaded) | 1 | source date not stated | 18 October 2026 | integrated | Old. Contact details must be confirmed. |
Sources still needed
| Source | Authority | Province | Status | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| National health facility master list | National Department of Health | National | blocked | Published research in 2024 reported it is released as an Excel file without coordinates on request to the ministry. No public download was found. |
| DHIS2 facility register (organisation units and facility codes) | National Department of Health | National | not assessed | Access requires a data request. |
| Eastern Cape Department of Health facility list | Eastern Cape Department of Health | Eastern Cape | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Free State Department of Health facility list | Free State Department of Health | Free State | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Gauteng Department of Health facility list | Gauteng Department of Health | Gauteng | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health facility list | KwaZulu-Natal Department of Health | KwaZulu-Natal | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Limpopo Department of Health facility list | Limpopo Department of Health | Limpopo | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Mpumalanga Department of Health facility list | Mpumalanga Department of Health | Mpumalanga | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Northern Cape Department of Health facility list | Northern Cape Department of Health | Northern Cape | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| North West Department of Health facility list | North West Department of Health | North West | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Western Cape Department of Health facility list | Western Cape Department of Health | Western Cape | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Private health establishment licences | Provincial Departments of Health (to confirm per province) | National | not assessed | No published licence register was found in a short search. |
| Inspection and certification outcomes | Office of Health Standards Compliance | National | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Register of pharmacies (premises) | South African Pharmacy Council | National | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |
| Remaining Mediclinic finder pages | Mediclinic Southern Africa | National | partly assessed | Only page 5 of the finder could be reached. |
| Netcare and Life Healthcare hospital lists | Operators | National | not assessed | Not searched for in this build. |